Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: We are fully operational and remote, we are available over the phone 8am-5pm Monday-Friday, available over email and able to provide services to our existing and future clients. More FAQs »
English or Spanish
In Florida, an action for injury to a person caused by a defective product based on the theories of strict liability, negligence or contract must commence within four years. Failure to file within the time limit leads to the inability of suing. For example, if you are injured on January 1, 2016, you must file a Florida personal injury claim by January 1, 2020.
The statute of limitations differs from state to state. Failure to file within the time limit established by the statute of limitations leads to the inability of bringing legal course.Consult Mr. Sean M. Cleary to learn about rules and regulations applicable to your particular case.
According to the 2015 Florida Statutes:
"Under no circumstances may a claimant commence an action for products liability, including a wrongful death action or any other claim arising from personal injury or property damage caused by a product, to recover for harm allegedly caused by a product with an expected useful life of 10 years or less, if the harm was caused by exposure to or use of the product more
than 12 years after delivery of the product to its first purchaser or lessee who was not engaged in the business of selling or leasing the product or of using the product as a component in the manufacture of another product."