Here's What You Need to Know About Personal Watercraft Safety in Miami

Posted on by in Wrongful Death

Before you head out on the water in Miami, there are some safety concepts you should consider first, especially if you are operating a personal watercraft or PWC.

A personal watercraft is a motorboat less than 16 feet in length that is powered by a jet pump instead of a propeller and on which the operator stands, kneels, or sits.

If it sounds familiar, you may know this watercraft by its more common names, like Jet Ski, Ski-Doo, and Waverunner. Riding a PWC can be an exhilarating experience, but it can also be hazardous. Inexperienced or inebriated operators can find themselves in Jet Ski accidents, like the ones presented below, with one wrong move.

Panama City Beach - Fatal jet ski accident kills Little Rock man

A 25-year-old man was vacationing in Florida at the time of the crash. While he was riding on a PWC, he collided head-on with a boat and died. The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) officers came to the scene and said that the man and his friends rented the jet skis from Treasure Island Marina and were trying to ride in the area of the Grand Lagoon when the accident occurred. The man had been heading toward a boat that delivers bait to fishing boats. This caused him to crash, where he fell into the water along with another man that was on the boat. They were pulled out of the water and several people tried to save his life with CPR, but were unable to do so. The man was dead by the time he made it to the hospital.

Tampa - Two jet-ski riders killed in crash

A 42-year-old man and a 41-year-old woman lost their lives in a jet ski accident that took place off the Courtney Campbell Causeway. They were taken to the hospital promptly. The man was pronounced dead there while the woman died later due to her severe injuries. The man was recklessly operating his jet ski, which caused the accident. The leading cause of jet ski accidents are collisions with other jet skis and collisions with fixed objects.

Before you take off for a quick spin around the lake in your jet ski here are some factors to consider about the Florida laws concerning operation of PWC:

Education Requirements

Florida requires that anyone operating a personal watercraft have a Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card issued by the FWC or otherwise be accompanied, on board, by someone age at least 18 who has an approved boating safety certificate. When operating a PWC you must carry your boating safety certificate with you at all times.

Minimum Age for Operation

To operate a jet ski in the state of Florida, the operator has to hold an approved boating safety certificate and also be at least 14 years old.

Concerning riding onboard a jet ski, be sure that small children do not ride in front of the operator of the craft. While the PWC is moving, it is also important to ensure that everybody can keep both feet on the deck to maintain their balance.

Operation

  • Jet ski operation is prohibited between one half-hour after sunset to one half-hour before sunrise.
  • It is illegal jumping the wake of another vessel, weaving your jet ski through congested traffic, or playing chicken. It's unsafe not only to you, but it also endangers other boaters in your area.

Required Equipment

You are legally required to have:

  • One Coast Guard-approved Type I, II or III Personal Flotation Device (PFD) (required to be worn by all persons). While it is not needed, it is smart to wear orange or another bright-colored PFD for better visibility from larger boats.
  • Fire Extinguisher
  • Visual Distress Signals
  • Sound Producing Device
  • Backfire Flame Arrestor
  • Ventilation System
  • Boat Lighting Equipment

Recommended Equipment

  • Eye Wear - goggles or sunglasses
  • Wet Suit
  • Gloves
  • Practical Footwear

Renting a PWC

You must be at least 18 years old and have proof of completion of an approved boating safety course to rent a personal watercraft. The rental operator must show you correct operating procedures and proper use of safety equipment after you show your ID and proof of age.

Contact a Miami Jet Ski Accident Lawyer

Before you operate a personal watercraft on your own, make sure that you understand how your water craft works by going for a ride with an experienced operator.

Once you get the hang of operating a PWC, you are sure to have fun, as long as you stay safe.

If you have lost a loved one or have received serious injuries in a Miami boating accident, we extend our sincere condolences to you and your family. If someone's reckless actions led to your accident and injuries, you have options.

We want to help every step of the way when it comes to your case. Let us help at The Law Offices of Sean M. Cleary by calling 305.416.9805.

For questions and free legal advice to help individuals please call us

305.416.9805
Disclaimer: Please note that the information provided on this site is not formal legal advice, also the site does not allow you to form an attorney-client relationship.