Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: We are fully operational and remote, we are available over the phone 8am-5pm Monday-Friday, available over email and able to provide services to our existing and future clients. More FAQs »
English or Spanish
Everyone on board a yacht and anyone being towed behind a vessel must wear a US Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device. Violating this regulation and others pertaining to boating are punishable with a $50 - $80 fine, depending on the county.
Florida has more yearly boat accidents than any other state. These boat accidents occur mainly because individuals underestimate the dangers of watercraft as compared to cars or maybe just do not understand the nautical rules and safety laws. Boating education is crucial when wanting to limit boat accidents.
The state of Florida urges all people onboard a boat to wear a life jacket. According to state law, children under six years of age must wear a US Coast Guard-approved Type I, II or III life jacket while on any vessel which is less than 26 feet in length that is underway. Also, each person on board a yacht, and anyone being towed behind a vessel must wear a USCG-approved life jacket.
Violating these regulations is considered as a non-criminal infraction and is punishable with a $50 - $80 fine. Also, according to state law, officers can issue citations for the negligent operation of a vessel.
Other regulations referring to life jackets include the following:
Miami yacht accident attorney Sean M. Cleary has vast experience representing personal injury victims.
This specialization allows our lawyer to bring legal expertise to clients’ yacht accident personal injury claims, not possessed by many lawyers.
If you or a loved one has been involved in a yachting, boating or personal watercraft accident, it is crucial that you contact an experienced and skilled boat accident attorney.
Maritime law is quite different from land-based law, complete with its particular filing deadlines and pleading requirements.