Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: We are fully operational and remote, we are available over the phone 8am-5pm Monday-Friday, available over email and able to provide services to our existing and future clients. More FAQs »
English or Spanish
How long you have to file a boat accident claim is ultimately determined by the location of your accident because the location determines the applicable law. The deadline for a boat accident governed by Florida law is 4 years from the date of the accident. By contrast, boating accidents where the Admiralty law takes precedence need to be filed sooner, within 3 years. However, depending on the type of accident and the type of party you're claiming against, some boating accident claims have an even shorter deadline.
You escaped from a boating accident with serious injuries. It can happen to anyone.
Nothing can undo what's been done, but the one thing that can help you get through the trouble and move forward with your life is getting compensation from the negligent party. Because personal injury compensation can help you cover some of the important losses you’ve suffered such as medical bills and lost wages.
In Florida, the deadline, or statute of limitations, for boat accident claims, depends on a number of circumstances, and the most important is the location of the accident, as this determines the applicable laws:
Florida state boating law applies to waters that are contained within the state's boundaries. And there's a four-year statute of limitations for the boating accidents on waters governed by Florida law.
Admiralty law or federal maritime law takes precedent in nautical and private maritime disputes that occur on the rivers, lakes, bays, and the Atlantic Ocean waters shared between states. Florida is allowed to follow its procedural laws in maritime disputes; however, Admiralty law takes precedent. And there's a three-year statute of limitations for boating accidents on waters governed by Admiralty law.
If your injury occurred on a cruise ship, the statute of limitations for you to file grievances is even shorter, one year, or even six months. And the cruise contract usually has timeline restrictions on both:
So, always read the fine print on the ticket or cruise contract.
Finally, if a loved one was killed as the result of a boating accident, first and foremost, we extend our condolences to you and your family. What you need to know about the statute of limitations for wrongful death is that it's of two years, and in some circumstances, as short as eighteen months from the date when the accident occurred.
To recap, the general statutes of limitations for boating accidents claims are:
You have different rights under Admiralty law than you have under state law and you have to figure out which laws apply to your boating accident.
Working with an attorney that has extensive experience in boating accidents can make a huge difference in the outcome of your case.
Ready for a free, confidential boating accident consultation that will actually help you?
Call us today for legal advice from a skilled Miami-based boating accident attorney.