Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: We are fully operational and remote, we are available over the phone 8am-5pm Monday-Friday, available over email and able to provide services to our existing and future clients. More FAQs »
English or Spanish
In Florida, if you are insured you can recover all damages that result from a side collision car accident from your insurance company, from the other driver's insurance company, or, if the accident happened due to a malfunction in one of the car's components, from the company that made and distributed that component. It is highly recommended to hire a car accident attorney in order to receive the maximum amount of compensation for your damages.
Florida's law requires drivers to carry minimum insurance coverage of $10,000 personal injury protection and $10,000 property damage liability. These insurances could cover damages sustained in a side collision accident. Your health insurance might also cover some of the losses. If the other driver is uninsured or leaves the scene of the crash without being identified, your uninsured motorist coverage will step in as well.
If the other driver has been found responsible for the collision, you should be able to recover the whole extent of your damages, including both economic and non-economic losses. For example, medical bills, lost wages, lost future earnings, damages sustained to your car or other properties, pain and suffering expenses, and the price of permanent physical disabilities.
However you need to be cautious: once you accepted a settlement, you lose your legal right of filing a claim sometimes later, when you realize your damages are higher.