Is A 5-STAR Rating Car Safe?

The New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) created the Safety Ratings to provide information about crash protection and rollover safety. A five-star rating only means increased safety on a relative scale. It means 10% or less chance of severe injuries, but you can still receive serious injuries.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) created the 5-Star Safety Ratings Program in 1978 to provide consumers with information about the crash protection and rollover safety of new vehicles beyond what is required by Federal law.

Having a 5-star rating only means you are safer on a relative scale. A standard of guidelines to measure the effectiveness of safety systems has been set up. Here are the details of what these stars actually mean:

  • 1 Star = 46% or greater chance of severe injuries
  • 2 Stars = 36%-45% chance of severe injuries
  • 3 Stars = 21%-36% chance of severe injuries
  • 4 Stars = 11%-20% chance of severe injuries
  • 5 Stars = 10% or even less chance of severe injuries

5-Star Safety Ratings can be found on and are posted on the Monroney labels (window stickers) that are required to be displayed on all new vehicles.
Even with a 5-star rating, your car needs a proper maintenance, and there is also the risk of an accident caused by a defective airbag. If you suffered a defective airbag-related accident, you can sue the manufacturer, and for that, you need the help of a Miami based experienced lawyer to guide you and assist you through the legal process.

For questions and free legal advice to help individuals please call us

Disclaimer: Please note that the information provided on this site is not formal legal advice, also the site does not allow you to form an attorney-client relationship.